“Beauty My Black” 2014 Blog Series – The Golden Rule

My mother always told me to, “Treat people the way that you would like to be treated”. Growing up, I took that very seriously. There have been plenty of times, where I have postponed my life, for the greater good of others.

I soon came to the realization that the people I crossed oceans for, never even tried to cross a puddle for me. It was hard to keep doing what I knew was right, despite so many who have continually done me so wrong. I started to wonder if I deserved more out of my relationships and if I was even worth more.

The rejection and the turn the other cheek attitude I had, slowly began to take a huge toll on me. I felt like my whole life fell on its knees, as if it never stood before.  My eyes were fixated on the downfall of my life, the unveiling of the truth, and the acceptance of change whether I was ready for it or not.

God certainly taught me a difficult lesson on unpredictability! Satan rampaged my family through the leak in the roof, which we were all too busy to notice. When you realize you have a bad roof, just know that the leak that’s dripping on you, is your first public sign of the damage that’s been there for a while now.

One thought on ““Beauty My Black” 2014 Blog Series – The Golden Rule”

Leave a Reply

